When you are injured in a car accident and the other driver was clearly at fault, your choice is simple: you will need to either work with the other driver’s insurance company to get compensated, or you can file a personal injury claim and collect damages. But both options will take time to resolve, and you may be wondering how to handle medical costs after an accident.
Hurt in a car wreck? The Houston car accident lawyers of The Krist Law Firm, P.C. help clients resolve their car accident issues. Call us today at (281) 283-8500 to schedule a free and confidential case consultation.
Who Will Pay My Medical Bills?
There are many items you need to focus on right after you’re hurt in a car accident. You’ll need to file a report with the police and the insurance company, and maybe even hire an attorney. You might need to have your car fixed, or purchase a new one. You will also have to replace any other personal items that got damaged in the accident, as well.
But the most important task you must focus on is your recovery. You may need to visit multiple doctors, have surgery, or attend physical therapy appointments. You may need to fill prescriptions or purchase medical equipment such as crutches, a sling for your arm, or a leg brace.
All of these items cost money, and while you’re trying to get better, you may find that your savings account suffers. It doesn’t seem fair that you’re covering all the costs from your accident when you weren’t the one who caused it. Unfortunately, that is your only option – at least for the time being. The person who caused the accident is not required to cover your bills; rather, you will be more likely to get reimbursed through their insurance company or by filing a personal injury lawsuit and collecting damages.
No Fault Insurance vs. Liability Insurance
Some states have something called no fault car insurance, which will cover a portion of your medical bills no matter who is at fault for the accident. But Texas is not a no fault state. Instead, the state requires that drivers pay for the accidents they cause by purchasing liability insurance.
But Texas only requires a minimum amount of insurance be purchased. The amount, known as 30/60/25 coverage, will cover $30,000 per injured person, up to $60,000 total per accident, and $25,000 of property damage per accident. These amounts may seem reasonable, but medical bills can quickly soar above $60,000.
Personal Injury Claims
If the driver who caused your accident only has the minimum amount of liability insurance and your medical costs are more than that amount, you will need to file a personal injury claim to cover the rest. Damages from personal injury claims can reimburse you for the money you’ve spent so far, and may even be able to cover future costs if you haven’t fully recovered yet.
How The Krist Law Firm, P.C. Can Help
The experienced car accident attorneys at The Krist Law Firm, P.C. know what you’re going through. Let us work with the insurance company and the court so we can get you the compensation you deserve for your injuries and personal property damage. For a free evaluation of your case, contact us today at (281) 283-8500.